Top Ten Tuesdays – New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013

This week’s list is all about some of the most interesting authors you’ve discovered this week. Thanks to the Broke and the Bookish for hosting!

1.      Dan Wells

 Dan Wells

Out of all the new authors that I’ve read this year, Dan Wells is probably my favourite. He’s responsible for both the Partials and John Cleaver series, both of which are exceedingly fun and also very different from one another!

2.      Laura Bickle

 Laura Bickle

The Hallowed Ones duology blew me away. These were YA horror books with a serious bite, and I will be keeping my eye on Bickle to see if she can recreate her fantastic success with new stories!

3.      Bill Willingham

 Bill Willingham

In graphic novels, Bill Willingham is a massive name, yet somehow I only picked up his work this past year. He’s a man who has done amazing things with the fantasy genre, and now that Fables has an ending date, it will be exciting to see what he comes up with next.

4.      Joelle Charbonneau

 Joelle Charbonneau

Charbonneau’s The Testing was quickly labelled as a Hunger Games knock-off, but I was very pleasantly surprised by the fact that it delivered suspense and thrills in its own unique manner. I am not-so-patiently waiting for her next two books to be released in 2014.

5.      Jonathon Maberry

 Jonathon Maberry

I haven’t gotten through much of Maberry’s work yet, but he writes a popular adult science-thriller series (Joe Ledger), as well as highly acclaimed zombie series for young adults (Benny Imura) that have captured my attention. Since these are two of my favourite genres, I am sure that I will continue to add his books to my collection!

6.      Kelley Armstrong

 Kelley Armstrong

As a lover of urban fantasy, I am surprised that it took me so long to stumble across Armstrong. However, with her Women of the Otherworld series having just ended, and the new Cainsville series starting, I have a lot of catch up on, and having lots of books to explore is always a good thing for a reader!

7.      Laurie R King

 Laurie R King

I started to read King’s Mary Russell series after being prodded by a friend, and I am so glad that I took her advice as these novels are quite enjoyable. While I don’t read mysteries as often as I used to, I still enjoy the genre, and Russell and Holmes are a very entertaining pair to read about!

8.      Mike Carey

 Mike Carey

Mike Carey is another big-name author from the graphic novel world, and his Unwritten series is on par with Gaiman’s The Sandman. Unfortunately, he doesn’t get nearly as much attention as he deserves, so this is my moment of telling everyone to go out and grab one of his many books!

9.      Rick Yancey

 Rick Yancey

I haven’t liked everything that Yancey has produced (I’m looking at you Monstrumologist series), but he’s a prolific YA author who is really quite good at his craft (even when it’s not my personal cup of tea). I enjoyed The 5th Wave, and will definitely be exploring his other pieces.

10.  Paul Antony Jones

    Paul Antony Jones

The Extinction Point books were some of the first books that I reviewed on this site, and in those reviews I talked a lot about how Jones was a new author just learning the ropes. However, despite my problems with his novels, they are also some of the most memorable ones that I have read all year. So props to Jones, I’ll be keeping my eye on you!

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays – New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013

  1. I have never read any Kelly Armstrong books! I was getting into Urban Fantasy a few–OK let’s be real this was now like six years ago, and ended up reading Charlaine Harris and a few others instead. I have so many books to read!

Leave a Reply

